1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

convince me not to put the bass down for good

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by boamedt, Feb 11, 2013.

1. boamedt

boamedt

So I'm thinking, why do I spend all my money on my bass stuff but don't really do anything but noodle around on it for a bit and then put it down. I have been playing for 5 years. I play reggae music. I jam with my brother and a friend like once every week or two. I have been in a reggae band, but the singer's eloped and moved away. Where I live, there is not much of a music scene around, so finding a singer is imposible(let alone one that sings reggae) and so is finding a keyboard player(reggae just doesn't sound the same without)When I was in the band I went around tring to hand out our cd to venue and bar owners and none of them would even take it or even put it in and listen for 3 seconds. They all just blew me off. So we had aband and no where play. We found a few places, but we had to do It for free. I had fun, it's not like I was planning on making money from this.
    But now it seems like all the fun and joy I got from playing and gigging has gone away. You can't gig without a singer but can't find any gig to play when you have one.....so why play if it's not really fun anymore?

Not trying to be negative. Just had this thought and wonder...
  2. fenderhutz

fenderhutz