1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is still pending approval by Apple. If you haven't yet, try using your mobile browser - TalkBass is responsive to any screen size.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Convince me to get Flats

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by southpaw723, Dec 23, 2013.

1. southpaw723

southpaw723

I want to try out some flats, I've never tried them before. I play mostly classic rock style on a jazz bass. I heard more cons than pros though. I hear that a lot of flats' tension is bad for the neck and also I wont cut through in the mix. I like flea's tone on Stadium Arcadium, I heard that he used flats on that. What kind of flatwounds should a first time user try out?
  2. SteveHeissner

SteveHeissner

Try 'em and if you don't like it then just switch back. I like the way they feel on my fingertips but only use flats on one of my basses, a Carvin LB20. I have experienced no issues with action or the neck since putting flats on it.
  3. remainthesame

remainthesame

"convince me to get flats" ok i will, how's about i make you an offer that you cant refuse?

idk, i never played flats, just wanted to make a joke. carry on
  4. Linnin

Linnin

You should always have a bass strung in flats. If you only have one bass, buy another. It's Christmas after all.
  5. gidbass

gidbass Supporting Member

Chromes are a great choice for a 1st flat. Still very bright, but they do settle over time.

I have a P with Chromes and it sits in the mix perfectly. When I want to "cut" through the mix, i use my Ric with Rounds.

Good Luck!
  6. FourBanger

FourBanger

Don't buy flats.
  7. ZhuAnRen

ZhuAnRen