Could you help me find the better amp power for me?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by J.Nuno, Feb 12, 2013.

1. J.Nuno

J.Nuno

I got a 15W combo when I started practicing.
    Now I'm ready to join a band and I think I'm going to need an upgrade. It should be to rehearse at a garage or small practicing studio and maybe playing in bars later on.

Would 30W be enough? 50W? .... 100W?

I'm really lost here :smug:
  2. bassgod0dmw

bassgod0dmw Supporting Member

I'd be looking at 300w minimum and a good cab.

What's your budget?
  3. J.Nuno

J.Nuno

Thanks bassgod! If you're right, I was clearly aiming wrong for lower. To be honest I haven't really thought about budget yet. Until now, I was considering getting the other bass I want, that is about 350€. Will I get anything good amp/cab around that price range?
  4. CL400Peavey

CL400Peavey Supporting Member

Media:
    Albums:
    Shop used, it will stretch your budget.
  5. MrLenny1

MrLenny1 Supporting Member

300 Watts is a standard for bass.
  6. J.Nuno

J.Nuno

I thought about looking for used material too...

When you say 300W is standard you mean it goes from garage playing to small stage concerts?
  7. CL400Peavey

CL400Peavey Supporting Member

Media:
    Albums:
    Meaning it will cover just about anything you will have to do until you need PA support for bass. There are exceptions to everything of course, but its a good "starting point" for power (My first "real amp" was a 350 watt amp into a 410).
  8. HitByABlimp

HitByABlimp

Definitly go used. It will get you the most bang-per-buck. A nice combo should be obtainable for your budget. 300W is a good amount for rehearsal and small stages. It does depend on the rest of the band though. If competing againt a basdrum with sub and three metal guitarist, you might get swamped with total loss of headroom as a result. 500W is the next step up. But probably out of your price range.
  9. J.Nuno

J.Nuno

How about my budget? :)
  10. J.Nuno

J.Nuno