Cover Song Advice

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by lilcrate, Dec 30, 2013.

1. lilcrate

lilcrate Supporting Member

I have hung out in this section a lot to try and learn because I am new to playing and in my first "band" so I have a feeling I know some of the advice that will be given, but thought it can't hurt to see.

So far my "band" is just my brother-in law (lead guitarist) and I, but we are talking to a rhythm guitarist about joining and he played with us once over the weekend. We are working on originals and have a few down that we both like a lot. We decided to throw in a couple covers. Here is the issue I have. He is really pushing covering the SRV version of "Third Stone from the Sun" (w/o little wing). I think the Jimi version is okay, but think SRV's cover is terrible (at least the videos I have seen). I told him I didn't think it was that great and that it might not be a "crowd pleaser", but all he said was "Yeah right, it's f'ing awesome".

I really want to continue to work on stuff with him, but not sure I want to go in the direction he is going (showboat lead guitarist with an extreme resemblance to SRV).

1. Do you think that song will go over well?
    2. Do I continue to push that I don't think it will or that I don't really care for it?
    3. Do I just shut up and play it because I do want to be in a band with him and don't have anything else going on anyway?

Any other input, feel free to share.

2. tmdazed

tmdazed

I think SRV is more for muso fan boys than the great unwashed masses, but if you were to do an SRV cover, Pride and joy may be a better choice , more recognizable, pretty much everyone knows the song and it gets cougars in tight jeans up and shaking their asses

3. Phalex

Phalex Semper Gumby Supporting Member