1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Cracks ( repairable?)

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by RxFunk, Dec 3, 2012.

1. RxFunk

RxFunk

I have two cracks in my acoustic bass, and i was wondering a few things. 1) is it repairable? 2) how much would it cost/is it worth it? Any help would be appreciated as I'm really new to bass and this is my only one. If it's not worth it, any suggestions on an electric bass( limit of $300 max) maybe something I could mod in the future?

View attachment 303567

View attachment 303568

2. RxFunk

RxFunk

Please help me bump

3. carl h.

carl h.

The headstock tuner crack is no biggie, but the one down the neck could be trouble.

Value of the instrument would determine if I tried the neck repair or not.

4. Dbassmon

Dbassmon

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Genz Benz
    The crack by the machines can be repaired. It may be causing no issue other than cosmetic. If it were repaired, you will still have a cosmetic flaw as that would not merit refinishing the instrument over that. Does the instrument stay in tune? Is the crack enlarging? If the answer is no to both of those questions, I would do nothing.

The crack down the fingerboard... can not see if that is just a crack in the finish, I assume it is. Cosmetic issue, no big deal.

I would be hesitant to do major repairs on a $300 instrument.

Save your money. Refinishing will cost way more than the price of the instrument.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. carl h.

carl h.

I'm guessing this got dropped and the neck crack goes internal along the grain.

7. Pilgrim

Pilgrim Supporting Member