Craigslist Finds!

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Project7Bass, Dec 22, 2012.

1. Project7Bass

Project7Bass Supporting Member

So I was browsing the old CL and found a guybselling a 90's Ampeg SVT Classic head and Ampeg SVT Classic 410he cab USA made. He had it listed together at $999.00. Went and check the stuff out...sounded great. Offered him 850 for the whole rig and closed the deal. Seeing that the head is 4ohm/2ohm and the cab was 8ohm I took a trip to GC and traded the cab in. They gave me 210.00 for the cab and I returned a used mesa 212 I just pick up there last week to pick up a New Ampeg 410hlf 4ohm cab to match the SVT CL head. It was more than a straight deal, no more loot outa my pocket and they even threw in a small ampeg practice amp. All in all, I think I made out pretty good, but im no expert on the Ampeg stuff. Feedback is appriciated and share a your CL deal finds too! uploadfromtaptalk1356202067717.jpg

2. will33

will33

Disclosures:
    Use of this field for any other purpose is prohibited
    Ceetainly a good deal. The amp alone is worth the $850 assuming it works well/doesn't need any repairs.

Always good to have a tech give a used tube amp the once over, especially if the guy was running it on the 8ohm cab at anything above say "medium" volume. But, if she works good, shouldn't be more than a standard bench fee to just check the bias and give her a clean bill of health.

Enjoy. One of the nicest amps ever made you have there.

3. Project7Bass

Cool thanks. He said he never really used it. The guy he bought it from used the head with an 810 in a band fron cali back in the 90s that only played a handful of gigs. But the guy said he only used it a few times. It was a bit dusty, but everthing looks to be working well and it sounds great.

4. will33

will33

Disclosures:
    Some of my CL finds....

400RB -- $150

800RB -- $350 with rackcase and Korg tuner.

Tubeworks Mosvalve 300 -- $200. Great amp.

Pre-Fender SWR SM400S -- $185