1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Craigslist Houston: Gibson G-3 Tribute ($250)

Discussion in 'Hot Deals' started by ih8law, Jan 21, 2014.

1. ih8law

ih8law Supporting Member

[DEL]I'm pretty sure this is legit[/DEL], notwithstanding the somewhat erroneous description. I'd buy it if I hadn't just blown my wad on a Gibson Les Paul Jr. bass. If I can't have it, another TB'er in Houston should snatch this up for the low price of $250 (I am not affiliated with the seller at all). Here's the Craigslist ad:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Edit 1/23/2014: Given the posts below, it is highly likely this is not a legitimate listing.

2. Bongolation

Bongolation

I'm doubtful, though I'm no Gibson expert. I've never seen a Gibson instrument of any kind without the S/N pressed into the back of the head. If it's on this one, I can't see it.

Houston CLers also seem dubious. ;)

3. ih8law

ih8law Supporting Member

I noticed that, too. There's a chance the s/n got washed out in the crappy picture, but if there is nothing really there then it's got to be a copy. I found some listings on rainbow guitars.com and reverb.com that showed headstocks with barely discernable serial numbers:
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

As always, buyer beware and carefully check this out prior to purchase!

4. Bongolation

Bongolation

Wow, no kidding! :eek:

I can't imagine why the locals haven't picked up a $250 Gibson, though.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. A-Step-Towards

A-Step-Towards Supporting Member

Its legit. Even if it was a copy you could sell that case for $100. If i lived in houston I would be on my way right now .

7. yodedude2

yodedude2 Supporting Member

15 hour round trip for me...tempting but gonna pass.

8. Texan

Texan 667 Neighbor of the Beast. Supporting Member