Credit card thickness?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by ByF, Jun 28, 2009.

1. ByF

ByF

Hi all,

I often see "a credit card thickness" mentioned here as a goal for neck relief. I've even repeated it myself, because more people have credit cards than have feeler gages.

But I started wondering, how thick is a credit card? Are they all the same? What kind of neck relief are we recommending when we say "a credit card thickness?"

So I got out my dial caliper (I used to work as a QC inspector) and measured all the credit cards, grocery store club card, auto club card, Red Cross donor card, everything in my wallet. To my surprise, they ARE all the same, about .030 inch (.75 mm). That's slightly under 1/32 inch, for those of you with fractional rulers.

But .030 inch is a LOT of relief! All of my basses play very well with about half that much relief. I have two feeler gages that I keep in the "everyday" bass case, .015" and .017", and I try for relief in that range. I just checked that bass with a credit card, and .030" would be way too much relief for me.

One thing I have noticed is that some people suggest using the string as a straight-edge, fretting at the first and last frets. That works, but I've read that the truss rod really only acts on the free length of the neck, the part that isn't attached to the body. So I've always fretted at the 1st and 17th frets, because the 17th is the first fret on the body.

I tried my Ibanez with a credit card, fretting at the 17th and then at the 24th, and a credit card was still too much either way.

So, I've been walking around my house measuring things, looking for the perfect "standard" for neck relief.

Business cards seems to be too thin, about .010", so one is too little, two is too much. The top off a box of Wheat Thins is close at about .018".