1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

    The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

    Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

CTS pots for Squier VM Jazz Bass

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by MevagisseyMedic, Jan 9, 2013.

  1. MevagisseyMedic

    MevagisseyMedic

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi I have a Sqiuer VM Jazz Bass with Alpha A250k pots.

    I have a set of CTS 250k pots i was going to install in a strat.

    Now are all the CTS 250k pots the same for the Bass and Strat guitars.

    The reason for the swap is that i find there is no change when adjusting the tone knob.
  2. audioglenn

    audioglenn Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you make the change you're talking about, you will hear nothing different. The tone control is probably not working because the capacitor is not working and needs to be replaced. It's an easy fix if you're comfortable with soldering(and if you're not, you really should learn...it's not hard). A replacement cap is cheap. The other causes of the problem is the tone pot is bad or there is a broken solder joint. Just Google, "jazz bass wiring diagram" and it will show it to you.
  3. audioglenn

    audioglenn Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    ...if you think it is the cap, just PM your address to me and I'll send you a one in the correct value (if you're in the U.S.) The postage will cost more than the cap. LOL
  4. MevagisseyMedic

    MevagisseyMedic

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the offer audioglenn but im the other side of the pond in the UK.... funny enough Mevagissey.

    we have a maplin store not too far from here, what caps would you reccomend.

    are all CTS pots the similar with the same values
    i.e 250k or are there varients of these for different guitars?
  5. tabdog

    tabdog

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    They are the same pot for bass or guitar. A
    CTS 250k pot is a CTS 250k pot. The pot
    may not be the problem though. You will
    probably also need a .047uf capacitor.

    Tabdog
  6. audioglenn

    audioglenn Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    The .047uf capacitor is the one I use on my Jazzes. Just wanted to say, I have nothing against folks in other parts of the world, I just didn't want to get into really high postage for a 30 cent part. If you have any problems finding the capacitor, PM me your address, I'll still send it over.
  7. MevagisseyMedic

    MevagisseyMedic

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Audioglenn I appreciate your offer and thank you, but I have ordered a Sprague Orange Drop 47uf in the uk so should recieve it in next few days.
  8. Cadfael

    Cadfael

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Likes Received:
    0
    A voice from "the continent" (but spent 5x 14 days holidays in "non-typical tourist areas" of England and the IOM) ...

    CTS surely produces "non audio" pots, too. But if the pots you have were for a Strat, they are 99.9% "Audio" - which are the same as in a Jazz Bass.
    The only problem might be that the "E-chamber" (what's the right expression in Englisch?!!!) is not made for a "big" 24 mm CTS pot. The original Jazz Bass has 1" (25.4 mm). If the Chinese used metric 25 mm it would work, too. But I had "E-chambers" which were definatenly made for the smaller 16 mm pots ...
    Just try if they fit ...
  9. MevagisseyMedic

    MevagisseyMedic

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cadfael, Not sure what you mean by E-Chamber but if you are referring to the hole the split shaft goes into on the metal plate, then I will have to drill it out if there is a difference.
    I.O.M, I take it you're a biker monk then, Ha Ha
  10. Cadfael

    Cadfael

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Likes Received:
    0
    Two times by car but three time by motorbike ... :)
    But not on the IOM during TT! And never been in London. :)

    By "E-chamber" I mean the "hole in the wood" where pots and wirings come in ...
    In Telecaster and JB copies the width sometimes is too narrow for a normal 24 mm (CTS) pot.
  11. MevagisseyMedic

    MevagisseyMedic

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just Checking before i install.
    I have 3 CTS 250k pots
    2 with code 1142 (are these the volume)
    and one 1212 (and is this the Tone)

    normally i would say to my self it's bloody obvious, but what the heck..
    give me an engine to strip down and im ok but 3 friggin pots for a guitar
  12. Andyman001

    Andyman001 Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there an "A" or "B" marked on the pot? That references the "taper" of the pot.
  13. MevagisseyMedic

    MevagisseyMedic

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    no all have code 450s2772
    thats all there is on the bottom of the pot.
    where should the a/b be found
  14. Andyman001

    Andyman001 Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Usually on bottom or side with the other numbers. I'll look through my old pots, but don't think I have any CTS. I'll check back later.
  15. MevagisseyMedic

    MevagisseyMedic

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bottom of pot

    Attached Files:

  16. Andyman001

    Andyman001 Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didn't have any CTS. "A" or "B" is right before the value.

    [​IMG]

    You could also check with a meter if you have one.

    But either will work, A= audio taper, B= linear taper
  17. MevagisseyMedic

    MevagisseyMedic

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    no nothing printed on psb (circuit bord)
  18. Silver Blues

    Silver Blues

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    I really hope you slipped and meant 0.047uF because I guarantee you a 47uF cap won't work in your bass.

    --Silvie
  19. MevagisseyMedic

    MevagisseyMedic

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    just checked
    Description: Sprague 'Orange Drop' 0.047 Capacitor
    :)
  20. MevagisseyMedic

    MevagisseyMedic

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    what are these caps like that are factory fitted 2A503J

Share This Page