1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

D'Addario Black Nylon Tapewound on a RA Mouse?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Joe Smithberger, Sep 24, 2012.

1. Joe Smithberger

Joe Smithberger

Anybody try these on a Rob Allen Mouse? Looking for fit and sound info since they seem to be (soundwise) in between the Rotos and the LaBellas. I have been using TI flats on my Mouse for the last several years with good result and wonder if these new strings from D'Addario will work also.

2. richnota

richnota Gold Supporting Member

After trying every kind of tape on my Rob Allens and Shuker, I'm still partial to the LaBellas, but agree on with the sound of the DAs falling between the Rotos and the LaBellas.

Tried them on an MB2. Can you get the shorter scale for the Mouse? Might be a good experiment.

3. kevmoga

kevmoga

Changed strings on my Mouse recently, second time in the 2 years I've owned it. In the past, it seems like it took about a month for the zing to go away and a more solid thump to take shape. This time, I can't get the zing to go away, especially on the D and G. I saw an ad in Bass Player touting the newly redesigned LaBella 760N, also noticed the D string was slightly smaller on this set that on the last one I got from Rob. Any info on the "redesign"? Is this my imagination or have others noticed anything different about the strings?

4. Ukiah Bass

Ukiah Bass Supporting Member

Not La Bella, but I am successfully using Status Graphite black nylon tapewounds on my RA Deep 4 fretless. Exquisite tone and feel.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. MrLenny1

MrLenny1 Supporting Member

No ,have not tried the D'Addario's.
    I have been using LaBella's & recently tried
    GHS tapes. GHS are more pliable, no doubt different gauge.
    I like them, cheaper too.