DB Physics

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by Champagne, Dec 17, 2012.

1. Champagne

Champagne

Bare with me here as I am a audio engineer and I play DB...

This morning, over a cup of coffee I was thinking about DB response curves, spectral curves, resonances, etc. I have recorded a dozen upright basses and even more electric basses and know certain notes on certain instruments have higher resonances than others. I can correct all this if it is too drastic with certain techniques to keep things sounding natural.

As I reached the 1/2 way point of my 16oz cup of coffee, it dawned on me:
    If I set a DB in front of a subwoofer and mount a piezoelectric sensor on the sound board and sweep a sine wave frequency from 10hz up, I would be able to measure the resonance of the wood with the sweep and chart it. Along with the resonance curve, I should be able to see the complexity and harmonics in the wood. Knowing the sensitivity of the instrument could be a clue to what type of strings the instrument would like. For instance, with lighter more sensitive tops, more slinky/looser tension strings would get that board singing (speculating based on what I have read about string tensions and body types) Cool HUH? To the geek in me, YES!

Now I know that strings, neck projection, bridge height and player are variables, but wouldn't you think if you had the data from the sweep, then had the player play the bass as even as possible (meaning plucking and bowing) compare the results that similarities would be found? I think so, from experience as a player with time spent with my instruments. This brings me to another point: The sound post.