DB seems to sound better on solid state

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by Noot, Mar 3, 2014.

1. Noot

Noot

Hello, I would like to share an experiment I did, to see if it makes sense. I have a Hartke HA5500 amp, which has both tube and solid state preamps. I tried my plywood with K&K Bass Max on both preamps separately and the solid state preamp sounds much better. On the other hand bass guitar sounds much better on tube preamp than solid state preamp. I'm by no means an expert, but as I understand tube emphasizes overtones. Is it because upright bass has so much overtones, it gets too much for the tube so it sounds weird? Do people usually prefer solid state amplification for upright? Or is it just my particular setup/taste?
  2. dlargent

dlargent

Same here. Maybe it's not an issue of tube versus solid state, but I do like a clean and uncompressed tone for upright.

For example when I use BDDI pedal as a preamp for gigs where I double, I will put the blend on 100% for my electric bass, and 0% for the upright.
  3. salcott

salcott Supporting Member

A tube amp controls the same speaker in a different way from a solid state amp. I discovered this a few years ago when I tried using a Marshall Major and a 1/15 cabinet to amplify my upright bass. Even at low volume, the notes starting at about C on the A string and lower produced enough excursion in the cone that I worried about damage. The tone in general was very loose and flabby. A 400RB through the same cab produced minimal excursion and a clear tone.
  4. drurb

drurb Oracle, Ancient Order of Rass Hattur; Mem. #1, EPC Supporting Member

As I understand it, we are not talking about power-amp stages, but about pre-amp stages. Thus, control of the cone is not at issue. The differences heard almost certainly stem from differences in loading and/or voicing of the two pre-amps. That is, they likely have nothing to do with the function of tubes vs. solid-state devices, per se.