1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

De-fretting gone wrong. Worth my time?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by canttouchthis, Dec 4, 2013.

1. canttouchthis

canttouchthis

Hey bass folk.
    Ok so here's my ordeal. I've been interested in Gibson Rippers for too long. I'm more than happy to take the time and money to revive this sweetheart (http://www.ebay.com/itm/1978-Gibson...T-/221327400846?pt=Guitar&hash=item3388241f8e), but I've hit a wall. This fella botched an attempted de-fretting job, and I'm not sure if removal of the material to be re-fretted is safe/realistic/reliable. Although it could very possibly scrape right out, I have no experience fretting and I don't want to kill the thing. You can see how treacherous it could be in the 'neck-close-up' pic. If anyone could point me in the right direction, that'd be fantastic. Thanks!

2. T-Bird

T-Bird

Hi.

Welcome to TalkBass canttouchthis.

I don't see anything out of the ordinary on that DIY de-fret, he just probably used white glue to fill the slots and used round-wound strings to gouge the FB.

A bit of FB dressing and new frets shouldn't be too hard.

Regards
    Sam

3. lundborg

lundborg

Removal of the filling can be done with a good fret slot saw. You need to cut straight and not deep enough.
    However fretting is not uncomplicated, so as a first project it can be a bit hazardous, (depending on your practical skills of course).

You will also need to fix the chipping at the slots that you can see in the pictures, if you want the end result to look good.

IMO the price is too high, given that you need to acquire all missing parts for it, let alone the time spent.

4. fhm555

fhm555 So FOS my eyes are brown Supporting Member

I second that emotion.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. 96tbird