De Quervain's Tenosynovitis

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by BettySwallocks, Jan 7, 2014.

1. BettySwallocks

BettySwallocks

Hi Guys
    I have just received my first bass in 34 years!!
    When I was 14 I got my first bass,practiced all hours and got a severe case of De Quervain
    My question is, what would be a really sensible amount of time to practice in a day for a total beginner?
    How is it best to build up practice time over the coming months and years to minimise the possibility of injuries?
    Any help greatly appreciated
    Cheers
    Betty

2. Frohman

Frohman

Practice until you start feeling fatigue in your hand. If it feels like you're lifting weights (which is a sensation you'll start to feel eventually), you should:

1) Shake that hand.
    2) Make a fist, spread your fingers, make a fist, spread your fingers - do this really fast.
    3) Do number 2 again, but this time slowly and powerfully.
    4) Stand up. Arch your back, pushing the stomach forward, and press agains your spine with your fists.
    5) Arch your back backwards and stretch your upper back by crossing your arms. Grab one arm with the other, and pull it forward.

And of course: Some precautions must be taken.

1) Don't bend over the bass (like I do), when sitting down. That back should stay straight. (Alternatley, if you have the patience for it, it is ideal to stand while practicing.)
    2) Proper technique. In the beginning you will experience fatigue, no matter what. Rembember that it is important to a) Play your fingertips, dont push the fingers flat on the neck. This means bending them at the joints. b) Imagine you are holding a beer bottle, with a straight wrist. Thumb should point directly to the left, and the rest of the fingers should attack the fretboard directly from above with the finger tips.