Dealing with a bass player who plays like a guitarist

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by BeastSternecker, Jan 8, 2014.

1. BeastSternecker

BeastSternecker

I play various instruments on my church's music team and I have most recently been playing piano the most. ( not great for me because I know I'm a bassist through and through, but I'll fill any role.)

Unfortunately, a problem has risen and it needs to be taken care of, but I don't know how to say it.

The bass player who plays when I play lead keys isn't much of a bass player. He has been playing for some time now, but he doesn't understand the instrument. He is a guitarist at heart. (Not that he actually plays guitar, but he plays like a guitarist.)

He plays in the upper registers of the bass. And when I say upper registers, I mean he'll play parts of his lines past the twelfth fret on the d and g string. And he isn't using those string for fills. He's actually playing "bass" lines on them.

Whenever I look back at him and ask him to play lower, he disregards the suggestion. Actually now that I think of it, he plays a five string and I've never seen him use the fifth string and I mean never.

I've had to start compensating for the lack of bass lines on the piano. I've become the bass.

The question is, how do I approach the situation with out him getting mad at me? (He is a close friend which makes it hard)

2. Auzzie-Phoenix

Auzzie-Phoenix

I have a feeling this should be in misc. or band management, not OT. But as an honest suggestion, you should be upfront with him and tell him outright what your concerns are.

3. wild4oldcars

wild4oldcars