Decent amp set ups for playing smaller gigs?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Samson3191, Nov 13, 2013.

1. Samson3191

Samson3191

Hey guys, I'm new here. I've been playing bass for several years now. My friends and I recently started a 3-piece punk-ish type band and I play bass. We are hoping to start playing some gigs soon, probably nothing too big, and I'm thinking I need to get some new gear. Right now all I have is an Acoustic 100W 1X15 Combo amp. I hear that it's better/wiser to get a cab and head seperately so I'm thinking of doing that.

I'm pretty uneducated when it comes to amps and stuff so I wanted to get some imput. Pretty much any advice or recommendations whatsoever would be helpful. I don't know what's good, what to avoid, how many watts I need for the cab vs the head, how many watts I need to play gigs, all of that...I'm pretty clueless.

I appreciate any advise! Thanks.

2. CincyBassMan

CincyBassMan Supporting Member

Welcome to TalkBass! Please look at the sticky on Amp Facts at the top of the page. It is chockfull of the info you are looking for!

Russ

3. copacetic

copacetic

check out the new GK combo series. ( the all Black ones with the 'chrome' GK ). 200 watts and up. They work, good price, natural tone, and light weight for getting around. I and others who have been through all the amp bits from large to small have found a common denominator with these. Yes you can go to the MarkBass etc. but Give these a try.compare with others of course and see what you like. Best of luck.

4. nicopiano

nicopiano Supporting Member

Carvin MB serie = great small amp!

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. obimark

obimark

I new a guy who gigged out in a fairly well known local band with that very same amp- plenty of power unless you are playing too-loud people. He played some decent size venues too. I was surprised at how loud that Acoustic Combo amp was- of course it is kind of heavy as well. but for the price you should be fine.

7. bgavin