1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Defret or Buy Fretless Neck!!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Strat Hater, Mar 28, 2014.

1. Strat Hater

Strat Hater

What approach would you take?

The bass in question is my MIM P Bass. I want a fretless (again) but don't really want to buy yet another bass. I have a L2000 that can aproximate the P bass sound for fretted...so I am covered there, but unsure if I want to defret or not, for resale reasons, not skill reasons, for I have removed frets before!!

2. zontar

zontar

Personally I wouldn't re-fret as I am not that good with tools, but if you have the ability, the means and access to the tools-then go for it if you feel like it.

3. Mystic Michael

Mystic Michael Hip No Ties

Neither one. I would - and I have - simply gotten a fretless bass to go with my fretted bass.

I don't see the point of switching necks back and forth. Just not worth the hassle. And it's definitely not worth ripping the frets out of a perfectly good fretted bass. :rollno:

MM

4. FretlessMainly

FretlessMainly

Always, always, always, a replacement neck. Defretting is an abomination and I'll explain why (I've done this several times here, but rarely is it noticed, as far as I can tell):

1. Defretting and reconstituting a fingerboard costs a fair bit of coin. Probably in the vicinity of buying a new neck.

2. Defretting results in side dots that are off-pitch. That is, the side dots are where they are on a fretted neck, so now you need to spend more time thinking and less time playing.