Delano pickups

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by DeliriumTremens, Oct 31, 2007.

1. DeliriumTremens

DeliriumTremens

went to a guitar shop to ask about new pickups for my J and the guy in there recommended Delano pickups, the ones with the huge pole pieces. I've no experience with these and obviously don't want to drop a load on money of them with no idea how they sound. Are these fat, loud pickups?

2. James Hart

James Hart

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: see profile
    I just got one of those as part of a PJ set.... haven't put the bass back together that they were bought for though.

I'll have sound clips / reviews next month... but the tone of my MM style Delano is what made me order a PJ set of the same style / materials / etc.

3. DeliriumTremens

DeliriumTremens

ah excellent. I was hoping you'd chip in on my HCBF thread, but here will do! Cheers

4. Fender32

Fender32

:meh: I was looking at either the ones that you mentioned;

[​IMG]

or these ones;

[​IMG]

for my current "Super-J" project, but I just couldn't find any soundclips, or even first-hand opinions on them :meh:, so I ended up getting a set of Nordstrand NJ4SEs (which have just the tone I'm looking for ;)). Ironic really, since I'm located about 100km from the Delano factory and you're probably somewhere close to a Nordstrand stockist :smug: (I had to get mine from the USA).

Like James (Hart), though, I was very impressed with their MM style pickup :) (although I was using the MC4HE, which is a quad-coil, blade humbucker design).

[​IMG]

If I had wanted a "fat", powerful (and probably StingRay-like) tone for my JB project, I would have gone with your first choice, too ;).

Look at that nice wax-potting - doesn't that just inspire confidence :smug: ?:

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Delano pickups are great performers, IMO/IME.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. DeliriumTremens

DeliriumTremens

I'm in the UK and they had them in stock, he brought them out for me to see.