1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Designing a bass cab - looking for input

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by M0ses, Feb 6, 2014.

1. M0ses

M0ses

I'm not an expert by any means, but I have done a lot of reading research, I know the basics, and hopefully I'm not wildly off base here. Experts, please chime in and tell me how wrong I am.

Goals
    - Small size: I'm going on tour and the smaller I can make my gear loadout, the better.
    - Lightweight. This should come with the small size and neo drivers.
    - Widest dispersion of mid and hi range frequencies as possible. This cab will essentially only serve as a bass monitor for the drummer and I. I will be going through a sufficient PA at all venues on tour. I use a VERY mid heavy tone.
    - Minimize problems like comb filtering and beaming.

Things that are not goals
    - ALL THE BASS MUD
    - ALL THE SPL

So. Here's what I'm thinking. (Please note, I haven't drawn anything to scale yet.)
    The cab will be a prism, with this shape as the base.
    [​IMG]
    It will be 36 inches tall, bringing the internal volume to 3752.6 in cubed.

It will be loaded with twelve of THESE in a 2x6 line array. Modeling those drivers in WinISD with that volume gives me this:[​IMG]
    Which looks like bass response I can live with. I use a HPF set somewhere around 50Hz.

They'll be crossfiring, 50 degrees off-axis. Assuming a 1/8in protrusion (I don't have the drivers in hand yet), if I've calculated everything correctly, I can mount them .06in away from the corner. This number seems ridiculously small but if I've made an error, I can't find it.