Determining power cable replacement for amp head.

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by PokeyPrasch, Sep 16, 2013.


  1. PokeyPrasch

    PokeyPrasch

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Location:
    Moxee, WA
    Hello,

    I've been lurking for months, finally decided to make an account and ask a question. I searched but either there is no relevant post or my search skills are failing me. My apologies.

    I recently purchased a Behringer BX3000T head and an old CRATE cab for an inexpensive rig to leave in my garage. Somewhere in the process of moving it I lost the power cable for the head.

    Is there a specific type I need to replace it with?
     
  2. B-string

    B-string Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    Not really, if you have an old desktop computer cord your good.
     
  3. lowfreq33

    lowfreq33

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Location:
    Nashville
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Genz Benz Amplification
    It's called an IEC cable, and you can get them anywhere. Radio Shack, Office Max, etc. or any music store.
     
  4. PokeyPrasch

    PokeyPrasch

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Location:
    Moxee, WA
    Okay, thank you both.
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. B-string

    B-string Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    Don't you wish all answers were that easy? :)
     
  7. Downunderwonder

    Downunderwonder

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    They disappear and materialise at will, I can't recall ever buying one.
     
  8. Vanceman

    Vanceman

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    All my computer cables say 18g on them. Is that guage thick enough for a 500 watt amp?
     
  9. Cirk

    Cirk

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Location:
    Newport News, VA
    I'd recommend something heavier gauge, like 12 or 16. No need to spend more than $10 on it.
     
  10. B-string

    B-string Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    16 awg would be the max needed for full power use. Less than full power 18 awg would most likely work okay. Check if it gets warm, if it does go to 16 awg.
     
  11. gurensan

    gurensan

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Location:
    Coon Rapids / Anoka, MN
    Seeing as most computer power supplies are 500W+ nowadays, yeah. Neither deliver full power all the time.
     

Share This Page