1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

    The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

    Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Determining power cable replacement for amp head.

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by PokeyPrasch, Sep 16, 2013.

  1. PokeyPrasch

    PokeyPrasch

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I've been lurking for months, finally decided to make an account and ask a question. I searched but either there is no relevant post or my search skills are failing me. My apologies.

    I recently purchased a Behringer BX3000T head and an old CRATE cab for an inexpensive rig to leave in my garage. Somewhere in the process of moving it I lost the power cable for the head.

    Is there a specific type I need to replace it with?
  2. B-string

    B-string Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Likes Received:
    7
    Not really, if you have an old desktop computer cord your good.
  3. lowfreq33

    lowfreq33

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Genz Benz Amplification
    It's called an IEC cable, and you can get them anywhere. Radio Shack, Office Max, etc. or any music store.
  4. PokeyPrasch

    PokeyPrasch

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, thank you both.
  5. B-string

    B-string Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Likes Received:
    7
    Don't you wish all answers were that easy? :)
  6. Downunderwonder

    Downunderwonder

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    They disappear and materialise at will, I can't recall ever buying one.
  7. Vanceman

    Vanceman

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    All my computer cables say 18g on them. Is that guage thick enough for a 500 watt amp?
  8. Cirk

    Cirk

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'd recommend something heavier gauge, like 12 or 16. No need to spend more than $10 on it.
  9. B-string

    B-string Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Likes Received:
    7
    16 awg would be the max needed for full power use. Less than full power 18 awg would most likely work okay. Check if it gets warm, if it does go to 16 awg.
  10. gurensan

    gurensan

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Seeing as most computer power supplies are 500W+ nowadays, yeah. Neither deliver full power all the time.

Share This Page