1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Detroit Bass Resources/Players

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by avocado_green, Mar 22, 2005.

1. avocado_green

avocado_green

Hello everyone,

I'm looking to start bass study this summer (probably jazz), and I am having a hard time finding a teacher as well as a place to rent a double bass from. I live in Detroit, MI and don't have a car right now, I might have one by the summer. I'm already a musician, and I tend to pick up things fast, so I'm not a total beginner. Is there anyone on this forum that is in or around Detroit?

PS- I've spent a lot of time checking out the newbies threads-thanks to everyone that helped make it, it is definitely a big help to someone that doesn't know any other upright players.

-Nathan

2. Brent Norton

Brent Norton

You might try Dan Pliskow, (248)549-5575. He's on Wayne State's Jazz Studies staff and offers private lessons. If nothing else, I'm sure he could put you in contact with other area teachers if need-be.

You can also try places like Shar Music in Ann Arbor, or Rob Wilson (Wilson Fine Violins) in Birmingham for rentals, though I'm not positive if Rob rents.

3. avocado_green

avocado_green

Wow!!

I'm a Wayne State student that has been trying to find people on staff here, but the music department hasn't been so responsive. Is that a home number or office number (for mr. Pliskow)?

4. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Call my dad: Gene Parker (419) 874-2158. Tell him I sent you.

Another guy that you want a piece of is Dan Jordan. Don't know if he teaches, but track him down for sure.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. olivier

olivier