Developing note recognition by ear?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by basslust, Feb 1, 2013.

1. basslust

basslust

I want to be able to more quickly tell what chords other people are playing and play accordingly. I imagine that forcing myself to listen to the frequencies of the notes would get me recognizing them, but am not sure the best way to do this. Any tips?

I am a relatively inexperienced bassist, only having seriously played for 8 months or so. I will learn with experience, sure, but I need to learn fast. The biggest hurdle to my playing that I see at the moment is a lack of ability to recognize and play the notes without some trial and error.

Sorry if this gets asked a lot... It is just difficult for me to browse on my phone.

edit- I found the thread below, lots of good info, thanks.

2. the_stone

the_stone

Simply trying to memorize the frequencies of notes in order to pick them out of the blue isn't the best way to go about this. What really helps is general ear-training techniques - learning to sing intervals, scales, chords, playing a note and then trying to sing different intervals above or below that note, transcribing as much music as you can...that's the way to get your ear in shape.

Lots of threads over this subject in the General Instruction and Jazz Technique threads.

3. fearceol

fearceol

Why the hurry ? :confused: You cant rush experience. Be patient with yourself. You have only being playing a VERY short time.

"The Stone's" advice above is the way to go.

4. pbass2

pbass2 Supporting Member

+1 with focusing on learning intervals--being able to sing them, etc. will help you hear them faster and faster the more you do it.
    Being able to "see" them is very helpful as well--do you spend any time with a piano/keyboard? Can really help visualizing intervals and chords.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. bunkaroo

bunkaroo Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Spector Basses