Developing professional playing skills

Discussion in 'Ask Anthony Wellington' started by oniman7, Sep 23, 2012.

1. oniman7

oniman7

Mr. Wellington (Anthony? Ant?),

I am a 17 year old bassist. I graduated high school in June and don't start college until Spring. I have had a lot of free time and aside from doing normal teenage things, I have spent a lot of time working on my bass skills.

I have started practicing much more and I would like to start developing professional playing skills. Yesterday I started reading the Bach Cello Suites. It is slow progress but progress nonetheless and has already affected the way I look at things.

One specific question I have is how to effectively work with a metronome. When I just play with one alone, I often have a hard time keeping track of where I fall on the beat. Also, how do you get started learning to rush or drag the beat?

Finally, how do you go about practicing your ear training? This is by far my weakest link. I made up for it by learning theory for a long time, but now I feel I've ignored it too long.

I know you are very much about discipline and finding your own way (I believe it too). I am starting to pull my own discipline from the passion of finally having something I love to do instead of gliding along, and I will continue having to find that discipline because nobody will force me to be a better player. All of that said, I was just wondering if you could give me some pointers to guide me there.

Thanks for your time and knowledge,

Dakota

2. Ant Wellington

Ant Wellington

Hey Dakota,

Thanks for writing! People are starting to write in with more 'involved' questions. This is another situation where I wish I could speak to you. My thoughts flow way faster than my fingers can keep up.