1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

deviated septum

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by fmoore200, Aug 30, 2012.

1. fmoore200

fmoore200

So the ENT doctor told me I have a "severely" deviated septum and I can opt for surgery to correct the problem. Anybody have this surgery before? I drive for a living, will the surgery keep me from working? Any other info would be appreciated. Thanks guys and gals
  2. jarrydee

jarrydee

I have the same problem, but I dont have insurance so surgery is out for me...I can live with it though, it sucks though, was eating ice cream with my daughter last night and it ended up in my damn nose for a second...sucks! Wish I would have made different decisions when I was younger!
  3. fmoore200

fmoore200

It really affects my sleep. Even though I haven't done a sleep study, I am fairly sure it has caused a sleep apnia. It's nearly impossible to breathe through my right nostril :crying:
  4. Mysterion

Mysterion Supporting Member

Get a second opinion. It sounds like elective surgery, so think twice. My father had it, and it went fine. My wife had it, and it made her life much, much worse--in ways that can't be fixed.

I've always had a badly deviated septum, and it's been furthered by crushing my nose pretty hard; in spite of my enormous honker, it's not possible even to get instruments into one of my nostrils for exam. Still, conservative ENTs have recommended against surgery.