DI box and Ampeg V4b

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by Groovy_Gravy, Jan 25, 2013.

1. Groovy_Gravy

Groovy_Gravy

I have a 70's ampeg v4b that I use at live gigs. we run the bass through the PA and have done it through the line out on the back of the amp. Does this mean I dont need a DI box?

Would a DI box give me a better sound? If so what would be a good one to get. I hear Radial and Countryman recommended a lot but I have no knowledge about these and how they hook up...active/passive..

PLease can someone give me a crash course on these things. I would greatly appreciate it!

2. craig.p

craig.p Supporting Member

Well... First of all make sure you're running that amp as quiet on stage as you possibly can, because the louder it is, the more phasing anomalies you're going to create with the mains. And the more of those you create, the more craptastic the summed bass sound will be where the audience is. In that type of scenario, what you're using to feed the PA wouldn't make a bit of difference because it would be swamped by the effects of the competing mains and the V4B.

Ok, with that business put away, what you're doing is fine, assuming you're sending external amp out to a board line level via an unbalanced (single-ended, phone plug) snake feed. There is a VERY slight possibility that the V4B's output is being loaded down by the board's line-in input, if the board's input impedance for that feed is much below 25K ohms (I'd bump that number to 50K if it were for guitar or vocals, but this is bass, after all, and a lot of high end lost due to excessive loading can be made up for with the board channel's tone controls.) Even if it's a low number like 10K, though, a lot of the loss can be made up for -- again -- with that board channel's tone controls.