DI help please!!

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Bassist96, Jan 24, 2013.


  1. Bassist96

    Bassist96

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    68
    Hey
    My band is going to start gigging very soon, but my head doesn't have a di output, so i need to buy a di.

    .Can I just get a di box without an eq
    . What is the point of the eq
     
  2. ZombieSpacebat

    ZombieSpacebat

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    544
    Location:
    Perth, Scotland
    Yes you can get a DI without an eq, and 99% of gigs I've played the engineer has had DI boxes for me anyway. If you don't know what the point of eq is I'm not sure you're ready for gigging.
     
  3. EricssonB

    EricssonB

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    974
    Location:
    CoSpgs, CO.
  4. RickenBoogie

    RickenBoogie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    18,895
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    If you're playing somewhere that has a PA, then they'll also have a soundman, and all the needed stuff, like DI's. You don't *need* anything, but experience.
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Skygonzo

    Skygonzo Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    US Army- Germany
    Exactly.
     
  7. capncal

    capncal

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    371
    sansamp tech 21 bass driver DI. those are very popular on here and seemingly everywhere. great for sending a tubey sound to the board.

    or a simple DI box that cost around $40 that's available at most guitar and music stores will serve the purpose.

    or you can just have the sound guy mic your rig.

    or both!
     
  8. JimmyM

    JimmyM Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    79,957
    Location:
    Apopka, FL
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    Of course he knows what the point of an EQ is...just not for the DI since the boards always have EQ's on them. Sheesh...
     
  9. Bassist96

    Bassist96

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    68
    Hahahaha I do know what one is, I just don't see the point since the amp and my bass already has an eq...
     
  10. SteveC

    SteveC

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,318
    Location:
    Grand Forks, North Dakota
    Sounds like all you need is a $40 DI available at most stores or at Amazon.
     
  11. rumblinbass

    rumblinbass

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    938
    Location:
    Wimberley, TX
    kinda see what you're saying...all these eq's seem redundant. I'm one of those guys that don't care for tone control or eq on my bass - but that's just me.

    This is the way I see it -
    EQ on the amp allows you to eq for the cab and room.
    EQ on your bass allows you to make changes to your tone on the fly without fidldin with your amp.
    EQ on/to your DI allows you some control of your tone to the soundguy.

    Again, that's the way I see it from my limited perspective.
     
  12. Munjibunga

    Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    32,927
    Location:
    Groom Lake, NV
    Disclosures:
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
    I use a Radial J48, but it ain't $40. I have several DIs with EQ on them. If you wanted that, I'd say the SansAmp ParaDriver or the Eden WTDI.
     
  13. Munjibunga

    Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    32,927
    Location:
    Groom Lake, NV
    Disclosures:
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
    LOL. I remember 1956.
     
  14. Gearhead17

    Gearhead17 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,077
    Location:
    Arlington Heights, IL
    http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/ProDI/

    This will do you well. If you send it off your bass - your bass tone goes straight to the board. If adjust your bass, the adjustments go straight to the board. So cranking the bass knob on your bass guitar is NOT always a good idea.
     
  15. Gearhead17

    Gearhead17 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,077
    Location:
    Arlington Heights, IL
    That is actually a good summary to go with.:bassist:
     
  16. vince a

    vince a

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    542
    Location:
    Modesto, CA
    yes,
    and an eq changes frequencies...you probably already have two (in a roundabout way) - on your amp and on the bass.
     
  17. Biggbass

    Biggbass Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,291
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Get an inexpensive DI like a Whirlwind DI and put it in your gig bag with your cables and stuff. Chances are you'll never need it but it's good to have one with you.

    ALso, you can always mic your amp ... most sound guys will do that anyway if you don't have a Direct Line Out on the amp.
     
  18. HeavyJazz77

    HeavyJazz77 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Messages:
    946
    Location:
    Virginia
    The Radial JDI is the only passive DI a bassist really needs. Go active w a Radial JDV or w EQ, an Avalon U5.
     

Share This Page