1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Did you keep your first bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by balton4, Jun 29, 2012.

1. balton4

balton4

So... I finally upgraded from my silvertone bass to a MUCH better Epiphone Thunderbird. No regrets there, but i am also a up and coming guitarist :bag: and i want to upgrade from my first act electric guitar. Needless to say, i need cash to fund this project. Here i was thinking to myself, "Would i really miss that old bass? I don't touch it anymore." Did any of you sell your first bass? Heres the link to the bass. I know if i sell it i wouldn't get much, but its cash towards a new guitar. Should i just keep it for sentimental reasons, or even for a backup at gigs (which i have been doing more frequently now)? Thanks for any advice with this beginner.

http://www.amazon.com/Silvertone-Gu...r=1-2&keywords=silvertone bass guitar package

2. alxi

alxi

I did sold my first bass. A five string Yamaha BB
    I hold on to it for a while but in the end it was just getting no use.
    I sold four other basses since then.
    I'm down to two and i'm thinking about keeping just one. A Yamaha BB 424x

I personally don't hold on to thing that don't get any use.
    YMMV

3. balton4

balton4

Thats what I'm thinking. My friend has that same take on instruments. Although, i got this bass last year for a christmas present, and i am not sure if my dad would appreciate me selling the gift that meant so much to me. :meh:

4. T-MOST

T-MOST Supporting Member

I sure did. 1983 Fender P bass. Black, rosewood neck, black pickguard and a badass bridge. I havn't played it since 2001.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. kimmyt

kimmyt Supporting Member