DI'ing a Walter Woods MI225-8 amp?

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by simoneves, Mar 13, 2014.

1. simoneves

simoneves

Dear TalkBass,

I'm a sound engineer preparing for a show, and the bass-player-to-be says he has had problems in the past having his Walter Woods MI225-8 amp DI'd, resulting in buzzes.

The amp appears to have a 1/4" (presumably unbalanced) line-out for each channel. If these aren't actively driven, and are just a loop-through of the inputs, then I could see why perhaps a Passive DI might affect the audio, but even then I don't see what would create a buzz (presumably some kind of ground loop problem) unless the amp and/or the DI's that others have tried to use are faulty in some way.

I have a decent dual Active DI which surely would work on the line-outs, or even between the instruments and the amp (they will be using both electric and upright bass), although obviously the latter wouldn't capture the tone of the amp.

I am wondering if anyone here knows of any issues or tips with these amps, please. I don't have a huge variety of "tools in my toolbox" (either physical or mental!) so I'd like to know in advance what I might need to make it work.

Thanks,

Simon Eves
    Novato Theater Company
    Novato, CA, USA
  2. Ed Fuqua

Ed Fuqua

Media:
    Albums:
    Disclosures:
    Chuck Sher publishes my book, WALKING BASSICS:The Fundamentals of Jazz Bass Playing.
    What's the group, what kind of music? If I were on the gig and was going to use the Woods, I'd just put my mic up through the bridge feet to get the bass out into the house.
    I've only used my line out twice, no problems either time. Once in a large church, the sound guy there said it was the warmest sounding line out he'd heard. The other was at the Pace University Performing Arts Center. Both were with a piano trio backing a vocalist, so not a loud band...
  3. simoneves

simoneves