Dimarzio Solderless Pickguard

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by bassplayer1494, Dec 2, 2013.

1. bassplayer1494

bassplayer1494

Anyone try these out yet? Is it worth the $150 with pup?

I am resurrecting my first bass which is a knock-off P copy. I bought it for $50 when i first started bass and ever since I upgraded to different basses, my Johnson Precision has been collecting dust. Im not too fond of the sound of it, but i absolutely love the feel of the neck. I think if i were to upgrade the thing it would be a great backup/change-of-pace bass in my arsenal! Plus I really love the sound of Dimarzio pups!!
    Ive always wanted a roadworn precision but money is tight...So Ive already began to relic it by means of sandpaper, hammer, and blowtorch :D. (Ill post pics soon guys)However, I am not very good with a soldering iron... I wish I was, but i just dont have the steady hand and I dont wanna pay someone to do it for me. Hence, this is the reason I am asking you guys about the prewired pickguard.. I feel it would be more cost effective to get this pickguard and do the installation myself because it looks "idiot proof" and can be done in 10 minutes or less.

http://www.dimarzio.com/pickups/bass/standard-bass/dimarzio-model-p

2. bassbenj

bassbenj

Even though I can solder, I've done wired pickguards on guitars (not the Dimarzio) and they are easy and a time saver IF everything fits properly. But if the pickguard doesn't fit exactly you may be filling screw holes with toothpicks and drilling new mounting holes. (The worry here is that the bass is a knock-off and the pickguard holes somehow are not in the standard Fender places)

Another thing is that "solderless" terminal block can loosen up from vibration in the bass and at some point in the future you may have to take the pickguard off and retighten it. No biggie, but something to be aware of.