DIY practice amp

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by djole94hns, Dec 2, 2013.

1. djole94hns

djole94hns

Hello there... I am really, REALLY tight with the money, but I need an amp of some sort to practice my bass playing. I tought if I built something like VOX amPlug, or something similar, it would turn out cheap. My question is this: what is, by far, the cheapest solution for me? And don't say "just practice without an amp", I already am :) Since I am a beginner, I would like to at least get a general idea of what I am playing would sound amplified, so I need a solution for this... Thanks in advance!

EDIT:
    I am good with electronics, so throw any solution at me if you find it cheap and doable. :)

2. Technotitclan

Technotitclan Lurking TB from work

You said any solution so....

way back when I was in your shoes I found stereo's worked. If you got the right cable/adapter or can make the right kind of adapter, they usually have a preamp circuit that can get the job done. I used my dad's 70's 65 watt home stereo for the first year or so of my bass playing. Pretty much anything that has an input meant for a mp3 player or something might work. some car radios will do it.

If you have the parts or can get them you can try something off this site. Most the schematics look decent. http://www.freeinfosociety.com/media_index.php?cat=13&start=0

3. Technotitclan

Technotitclan Lurking TB from work

you can also look up how to plug into your computer and play. there's lots of ways to do it, some easier than others.

4. will33

will33

Disclosures:
    Use of this field for any other purpose is prohibited
    Go to your local craigslist or pawnshop and pick up an old Peavey Minx110, Basic12, or TKO for less than $100.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. CnB77

CnB77

Tape a stethoscope to your bass

Don't know how many of those there'll be in Serbia.

7. will33

will33

Disclosures: