DIY tube amp builders and B-15 owners. Enlighten me on my first trip to tubeland.

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by greencow, Mar 1, 2012.

1. greencow

greencow

Long story short:
    I have an introductory course to SPICE, but I have already simulated some simple amp deisgns, filters etc. I haven't done anything with tubes though. So I looked at some of the B15 schematics available online. I was blown away by how simple the whole schematic was. I got an idea of actually building the amplifier. I have no previous experience with tubes and I feel like this could be a good first project. Also after running the simulations I could measure the characteristics of the actual amplifier and compare the results. Maybe this would even be enough to get me my B.A diploma.

While I plan on buying the transformers from fliptops.net(Mainly becuase they also offer a PT for europe.) I could use asmuch information on the transformers as possible for running the simulations. Also tips, tricks, hints and reading material on building tube amps is welcome. The idea is not to only solder the thing together, but to understand every component and every current in the schematic.

I need to check what parameters the software allows for transformers, haven't got a license yet.

"Diving headfirst into the glowing glass world, thinking: "I'll just do this one build" but probably ending up a tubehead :help:
  2. basscooker

basscooker

Disclosures:
    Owner, Chopshopamps.com
    i'm not at all familiar with the circuit for the b15, but i know that the fender champ is kinda the go-to for first-tube-builds IME.

yes you will be a tubehead.
    start your GAS fund now.

i predict EL34's in your future. and a mild but permanent OCD concerning biasing.
  3. Passinwind

Passinwind Charlie Escher Supporting Member

Media:
    Albums: