1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Do I need a DI? / What Kind?

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by Akashamitra, Dec 16, 2013.

1. Akashamitra

Akashamitra

Hi Folks,
    sorry if this sounds daft - I'm a software based musician and am new to all this. I bought a dB a couple of weeks ago with a realist pickup fitted. Lovely sound acoustically.
    I want to plug the bass straight into my studio set up (into mixer then into soundcard then into computer). Currently when I do that the signal is almost non existent ie very very quiet and weak. I think the pickup is fine as we tested it with an amp when I bought it.
    I'm guessing I need some kind of DI box? But I don't know where to start - does it need to be passive or active? Can anyone recommend an entry level DI box to use with double bass?
    Excuse my ignorance on this matter - any advice gratefully received.
  2. Major Softie

Major Softie

I haven't used the realist pickup, but it's a little surprising that it wouldn't have enough level for a mixer as long as it was plugged into an input expecting mic level signal. So, there may just be a problem with your adjustments to the mixer. Someone more familiar with the pickup may be able to clarify about it.