Do most orchestral players sit?

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by Swing Doom, Jan 27, 2013.

1. Swing Doom

Swing Doom

I'm primarily a jazz bassist and prefer to stand when I play, regardless of whether I'm playing pizz. or arco. However, I've noticed that many orchestral players, far more than jazz players, sit when they play.

Do most players stand when playing jazz and sit when playing classical? Or do most just choose one method for both?

2. MartinBorgen

MartinBorgen

I think it's part because bringin a stool to a jazz gig is such a bother, while standing through a symphony is a pain. Also, standing and playing pizz is much eaiser than standing and bowing, as your pizz hand helps with balance.

3. Swing Doom

Swing Doom

I've wanted to try sitting for some time now but my band director refuses to let me.

However, I have tried sitting in orchestra. I don't think I'm holding the bass right since I can't really play the E string without bowing into my leg.

4. Adam Attard

Adam Attard

I've seen both people sit and stand for both orchestra and jazz. It's a personal preference thing, obviously, and I've seen more people stand for jazz, but with orchestra it's generally mixed. I have seen a few sections entirely seated, but again, it varies from orchestra to orchestra, and player to player.

I play almost entirely orchestra and I sit, but I know amazing players who also stand entirely. You can make it work either way. But If you can't bow your e while sitting, you're doing it wrong- try bringing the bass to be slightly more flat faced (tilting it to your left) and bracing the left lower bout with your thigh so you have better access to all four strings.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Swing Doom

Swing Doom

I will be sure to try this. I have noticed that I have better left hand control when I sit. Thanks for your input.