Do smaller local bands generally have sound guys?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Balog, Jan 9, 2013.

1. Balog

Balog

So, to preface, I am not a professional sound engineer. I volunteer at a church, and have helped at professional shows a couple times. However, over the 4ish years (generally at over 40 weeks a year) I've been doing it I have received extensive training from several professionals: my mentor spent years in LA with a multi-thousand seat venue, and I've worked with and been trained by one of the partners at a local pro sound reinforcement company as well as a degreed recording studio engineer. So I'm not a full on pro, but I'm considerably better equipped than the average guy that just volunteers at his church. The sound guy equivalent of a guy playing the infamous $400 a night bar gigs.

I'm hoping to find a local band/venue who I can work with part time for some extra income. But it seems like at the "local bar/festival band" level most acts don't have a dedicated sound guy. Lower level venues either don't want a sound guy, don't want to compensate him at all, or want to do a "be our sound guy and your band can be the openning act sometimes" arrangement. Better venues want a guy who can show a degree in audio engineering.

Am I being unreasonable to think I can find an act or venue at the lower levels who would want to make a sound guy part of their team? Am I just looking in the wrong places? Any advice on breaking into this?

2. MatticusMania

MatticusMania LANA! HE REMEMBERS ME!

Our band does not. Most of the places we play provide a PA and will have someone there (not always a sound guy) to run it. We're a small local band playing original music in the LA area.

3. Mystic Michael

Mystic Michael Hip No Ties