1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Do you use "flux" when soldering?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Chrisk-K, Mar 25, 2011.

1. Chrisk-K

Chrisk-K

I recently read about soldering flux. It's supposed to help achieve clean soldering joints. I've never used it. I can solder but am not very good at it. Am I supposed to use "flux"? You apply a little bit of flux before soldering, right?

2. Rob22315

Rob22315

If you are using solder for electronics, the flux is embedded in the solder. The stuff that smokes when you solder is the flux. Brush on solder is for plumbing and stained glass.

3. Coop Soup

Coop Soup

There is some flux in solder, but having a liquid flux really helps achieve a cleaner joint. I used to solder for a living (electronics repair) and you should always use liquid flux to achieve professional results.

4. murphy

murphy

How do you apply it and to what?

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Bongolation

Bongolation

I'm also an ex-pro handwiring tech, forty hours a week doing boutique audio P2P.

I always used extra flux.

With SMT, it's impossible to solder without flux as the flux's wicking effect is the only way the solder can move where it has to.

Flux is freakin' magic. Watch a guy do copper pipes sometime. ;)

7. Jazzdogg

Jazzdogg Less barking, more wagging! Supporting Member

8. Bongolation

Bongolation

You apply it however you can to both surfaces being soldered together.

When I'm doing PCB repair or rewiring instruments, I dab some paste flux on with a toothpick. As soon as the heat gets near, it will melt and spread where it needs to.