1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

    We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Does playing thru a tuner affect sound quality

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by lowdown53, Jul 27, 2013.


  1. lowdown53

    lowdown53

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2013
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    Is there any noticeable difference in playing thru a tuner (Boss TU3) vs using a tuner port on the amp? :meh:
     
  2. walterw

    walterw Supportive Fender Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    The TU3 has a buffer, which can actually improve the sound if you have a passive bass and long cables, or if you're going straight into a passive direct box.
     
  3. esa372

    esa372 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Sometimes, yes. It depends on the tuner.

    I don't know about the TU3, but a quick A/B test should let you know.

    For example, the Korg DTR1000 and 2000 have been guilty of changing my tone, but the DTR1 is nice and clean.

    There are some who believe that ALL tuners change the tone, to the point of saying, "No tuner should have an 'output' jack".

    Trust your ears; the A/B test will tell you.
     
  4. Major Softie

    Major Softie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Location:
    South Lake Tahoe, CA
    Any tuner that has a "true bypass" should have no impact on the sound. If it does not, then it can.

    In reality, every time you add a cable and two more jacks, there's a theoretical impact on the signal, and the possibility of creating noise, but that doesn't keep people from successfully running through a whole music store worth of pedals.
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. 96tbird

    96tbird This Indian movie is really boring man.

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canada
    I just got a Polytune and I hear no diff but its quality; true bypass. Highly rated and it lives up to the hype. Outstanding piece of kit. I tried a couple of other brands and this kicks them all. The boss tu2 was second pick. Imagine: strum all strings at once and you see them all at once. Oops the A is out, pluck it and it switches to chromatic mode instantly. Technology rules. If you're looking, seek no further.
     
  7. Pilgrim

    Pilgrim Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Location:
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    I have a TU-2 and if it makes any difference I've never noticed it. There are two very relevant issues -

    First, does it make an AUDIBLE difference?
    Second, is that difference "better" or not?

    I suggest that it's not worth worrying about. Other factors in the signal chain are much more significant.
     
  8. Nephilymbass

    Nephilymbass Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Location:
    Fayetteville Ft Bragg NC
    Both of mine do, but I run mine parallel with my rig so the tuner is not part of my actual signal chain so it solved that issue. For example ill run the "sans amp" 1/4 out of my sans amp RBI to the power amp, but the dry 1/4 out which I otherwise wouldn't be using goes to the tuner. I can't mute and tune but I've gotten away from stopping and tuning between songs. It just kills the energy, so I just glance at the rack mount here and there while I'm playing to make sure I'm good. In all honesty with most of my basses as long as the strings have been stretched its not something I really have to worry about. I can hear if its way off
     
  9. fhm555

    fhm555 So FOS my eyes are brown Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Had one for awhile and like it a lot. I needed a second tuner so I thought I'd try the Korg Blackout. It's cool but not near as easy to use as the Polytune. It tunes OK and I can't tell any difference in sound, but it's harder to see in the dark than the Polytune so it takes longer.
     
  10. ggunn

    ggunn

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I use a clip on tuner. It doesn't affect the sound at all. :D
     
  11. Scott in Dallas

    Scott in Dallas

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    Dallas, north Texas
    Disclosures:
    Builder and Owner: DJ Ash Guitars
    Not as much as being out of tune.
     
  12. 96tbird

    96tbird This Indian movie is really boring man.

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canada
    That made my day! :)
     
  13. ggunn

    ggunn

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Are you talking to me? My clip on tuner works fine and is nearly as accurate as my Conn Strobotuner. I wouldn't use it for setting intonation, but it's plenty good for stage work.
     
  14. 96tbird

    96tbird This Indian movie is really boring man.

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canada
    Pretty sure he is answering the thread title directly.
     
  15. Scott in Dallas

    Scott in Dallas

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    Dallas, north Texas
    Disclosures:
    Builder and Owner: DJ Ash Guitars
    Si.
     
  16. Pilgrim

    Pilgrim Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Location:
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    Point: Scott!:cool:
     

Share This Page