Does playing upright really make you a better electric bass player?

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by jojoslap, Feb 26, 2014.

1. jojoslap

jojoslap

I have been playing the electric bass for almost twenty years and feel that I'm starting to hit another plateau. I was thinking about taking some private lessons again, I took some for the first six years of playing electric. But than I had this idea pop into my head, why not take up the upright? I always wanted to learn it almost ever since I started playing the electric bass, but my parents nor I could afford it on top of my bass guitar lessons. Now I'm older and have the funds to take lessons and rent/purchase a decent starter bass. I want to learn upright because it's really cool and I love the sound, but I also want to advance my electric playing. I have heard that playing the upright really can improve your electric playing. I have read all the newbie threads and understand its no cakewalk going from electric to upright, it's learning a new instrument. I was just curious about peoples experiences who do play both and see what they think.
  2. Landy67

Landy67 Supporting Member

I've just started with the upright, and it's a lot of fun. I still haven't found anyone to take lessons from, and there are lots of warnings about hurting yourself, so I'm really going easy right now.

I have noticed that it makes you think differently about your bass playing. For instance, I have a song that I'm learning, and on the EB I play it almost entirely on the E and A strings. It's a lot of work to use those stings on the UB, so I've been finding alternatives on the D and G strings. When I go back to the EB, I've been using what I learned on the UB, and I'm becoming a much more flexible player.
  3. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Supporting Member