1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

does this bother anybody else?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by remainthesame, Nov 22, 2013.

1. remainthesame

remainthesame

Before I start off, I'm NOT a virtuoso by any means. I am NOT an expert on everything music related. I am NOT a know it all.

But I can't tell you how many times somebody has told me they use a drop tuning when they are using a standard tuning. Ill get an audition, and Ill be given a few songs to learn. when I ask for the tuning they say "drop C" (just for example) so ill tune my bass to drop C and learn the songs. Then I show up to the audition and everything is completely off because they are actually in C standard.

Again, I'm not an expert. And I know that people make mistakes. But this is becoming such a regular thing that I had to make a post about it. does anybody else go though this? How do you usually handle it?
  2. DrSteve

DrSteve

I don't drop anything. I play in the recorded key or the one we need to change to for the frontman. Guitar player drop tunes all over the place, so much so that we have to arrange sets around his changing guitars for a drop tune. Crazy.
  3. DiabolicLow B

DiabolicLow B

For the vast majority of songs I don't see the need for any drop tuning, I find it easier to transpose to the needed key.
  4. scottbass

scottbass Bass lines like a big, funky giant Supporting Member

/\ /\ /\ This.
  5. Bloodhammer