1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Does this sound like a good rig?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Gasmaskboi19371, Feb 24, 2014.

1. Gasmaskboi19371

Gasmaskboi19371

Okay, so a rig I'm thinking of saving up for is:
    Gallien Krueger 1001Rb head (£631 - $1050)
    Fender Rumble 410 cab (£255 - $424)

The Gallien Krueger 1001rb head is 700 watts. Apparently, the Fender Rumble 410 is 1000 watts at 4 ohms?

An (cheaper) alternative rig I was thinking of:

Hartke LH500 head (£350 - $582)
    Peavey 115TVX... 800w at 8 Ohm... (£195 - $325)

I play for a metalcore band, so I was trying to go more for a 115 cab for that great low-end sound.

Sorry, I'm new to cabs :meh:
    I still don't get 4ohm and 8ohm that much. I presume you can't plug a head into an 8ohm cab? You need another cab to do so?

Thanks.

2. Gasmaskboi19371

Gasmaskboi19371

I forgot to mention, I'm using an Ibanez GSR-205 at the moment, I was thinking of getting a Jackson JS3V 5 string for a backup (it's £286 - $476). Pretty cheap for a 5 string. :p

3. ArtechnikA

ArtechnikA I endorsed a check once... Gold Supporting Member

Here's a thread from this forum's stickies section you should read:
    http://www.talkbass.com/forum/f15/amps-faq-info-ohms-allsize-rigs-overunderpowercabs-diy-techtalk-links-166225/

Some basics:
    Speaker diameter has nothing to do with depth of tone.
    Heads have _minimum_ impedance (ohm) ratings. Cabs are what they are - and you can combine them in various ways that may or may not be advantageous.

You can plug _1_ or _2_ 8-Ohm cabs into a head with a minimum impedance rating of 4 Ohms (pretty typical).

You can plug _1_ 4-Ohm cab into a minimum 4-Ohm head because - 4 is the minimum...