Don't know where to start

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by M3kw, Feb 11, 2013.

1. M3kw

M3kw

I've been playing bass for around 7 years, we play covers for 60s 70s 80s rock. But for some reason I still suck. I can't improvise much beyond the A-E or the major scale.

I need some pointers on what I should do to start playing like a non parrot.

Pissed! Confused.
  2. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    How much do you know about how chords are constructed? Know any theory? Can you read? If not, I'd suggest finding a teacher well versed in theory and jazz and start learning it. Call your local college's music department and ask if they can recommend anyone if you don't know of anyone. Quickest route to being a good improviser out there.
  3. funnyfingers

funnyfingers

I think you want to play what you want to hear. With bass a lot of times you can hear this from what the guitar and and vocals are doing, then you want to play that for some fills. Can you play the fills in your head? Then there's always the standard sort of fills.

Sounds silly, but can you play any nursery rhyme songs? Can you figure out Happy Birthday without reading?
  4. kevteop

kevteop

Learning a little theory is the best way to break out of a rut. And a little theory will usually lead quite logically to a lot of theory.

To start with learn the major scale. Then learn about triads and how chords are constructed. Then look at how you can make different triads from the notes of the major scale, and you'll get some understanding of how chords relate to eachother and start to get a better idea of what you can do on the bass to link them together or change the feel of a song depending on the movement of the bass part. You should also look at the circles of 4ths and 5ths and you will spot them in use in pop music all over the place.