1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Don't like digital board for recording? Same here.

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by edpal, Mar 16, 2014.

1. edpal

edpal Banned

I'm fairly new to purchasing recording equipment and really have been hating digital mixer boards. They all seem like a troublesome point in the gear to be making the transition from analog to digital. The need for a board to "boot" in order to be functional makes it fairly all or nothing in my mind - no boot, can't run any sound through it at all.

I am thinking about going back to an analog board and a digital interface to bring channel inserts in.

Thoughts and suggestions on gear would be greatly appreciated....I'd like to have 16 channels minimum, trying to stay under $3-4k.

2. LowG

LowG

All digital recording methods are going to have to boot up (interfaces too). But if you want an analog board with digital interface, consider the Echo Audiofire 12 (x2 for 24 channels). Then just shop around for a used analog board - you can find them pretty cheap these days (as people switch to digital systems).

3. edpal

edpal Banned

Thanks LowG. Yeah, I've been looking into this more and I feel like going with an all-in-one units have few advantages and many disadvantages. We pay a big price with an all-in-one unit and it makes upgrading expensive as it is all or nothing. Just like the operation of them {face palm}. I'm going back to an analog board so I can upgrade on a component basis. An analog board doesn't need to boot up...last thing I want to worry about at a gig.;) I might not be able to RECORD the gig but at least I'll be able to play the gig.:bassist:

I'm staring at this Roland Studio Capture USB 2.0 pretty darn hard. http://www.rolandus.com/products/details/1268