Double Bass in High School

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by Digitechwire, Dec 29, 2012.

1. Digitechwire

Digitechwire

I'm a Junior in high school right now and I've been playing classical double bass for six years now but I'm not as good as I'd like to be. I got my own used bass a couple months ago but my parents refuse to let me have a luthier set it up properly because they keep thinking that I'm going to sell it back right before I go to college. The action is too high and when I put some weight into my bowing, I end up bowing two strings instead of one. Therefore the only practicing I can do at home is pizz, and maybe it's just me but playing everything pizz doesn't help me very much.

My parents also won't let me get private lessons because again, they think it'll be a waste of money if I'm just going to sell the bass back. I've tried several times to tell them I want to major in double bass performance in college but they refuse to believe me since it's not traditional in the family. I want to play better so I can be at good level for college but I don't know how to improve without buying technique books or getting a teacher.

Side question: I also want to do a senior solo for orchestra but I've never really done too much solo stuff before. Where would I start with something like that?
  2. MartinBorgen

MartinBorgen

It's not a waste of money, even if it's your hobby. There's two ways of thinking here; my stepfather thought it was a waste unless I wanted to become a professional musican. My father, who is an amateur musician is almost cart blanche when it comes to music (within reasonable limits), even if it's just for amateur level. My stepfather is right if we're talking about a LOT of money, my father is right if we're talking about relatively small or moderate sums.

Personally, I solved it by working up my own money.
  3. Andrew McGregor

Andrew McGregor