Double & Triple Stops

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by ISO Groove, Apr 8, 2007.

1. ISO Groove

ISO Groove

Hi Guys;

I'm pretty new to bass. I've searched the archieve and can't find the answer. What are double & triple stops, how do you create them, when do you use them, and what are some recorded examples?

Thank you.
  2. Sarbecue Boss

Sarbecue Boss

there may be some guys that can answer this a little better, but a double stop is playing two notes of a chord and with those two note vaguely determining there tonality
    e.g.

Fm Fm Fmaj Fmaj
    -1------1------2------2--
    --------3-------------3---
    --------------------------
    -1-------------1----------
  3. fryBASS

fryBASS

and triple stops would just be adding one more note, making it 3 notes out of a chord, or a triad.
  4. ExaltBass

ExaltBass Just a BassGuy! Gold Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Lindsey Basses - crafter of XBass cables
    "Walk on the Wild Side" - Lou Reed was my first exposure to double stops and IMHO still the classic.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Deacon_Blues

Deacon_Blues

Why are bassist calling two- and three-note chords "double and triple stops"?? ...Just curious, I've never done that...
  7. BassChuck

BassChuck Supporting Member

My guess. When you finger a note you stop the string from vibrating its full length. Fingering 2 strings, double and 3 strings, triple.
  8. fryBASS

fryBASS

doesnt everybody call 2 note chords double stops :confused:
    We call them that in orchestra class on every instrument...
  9. BlimpPilot

BlimpPilot

Because, traditionally, a chord by defined as 3 notes or more played at once. 2 would be a double stop because you're stopping (depressing) two strings :)
  10. lomo

lomo passionate hack Gold Supporting Member