Douglas violin-bass copy - worth it? Also tips for first bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Hamlet7768, Mar 14, 2012.

1. Hamlet7768

Hamlet7768 Here to chew gum and rock. Still have gum.

Yep, it's another potential "first bass" thread from me. I need to pick one eventually. :help::D

Douglas WVEB Short Scale Violin Bass Black at RondoMusic.com

This bass recently caught my eye, primarily because it's much cheaper than the Squier Vintage Modified Precision in my local music shop, and as a beginner, money's a premium for me. Also, the violin "look" has always appealed to me.

Is this a good bass for the money? It seems pretty good compared to the Squier Precision, but hey, I'm not an expert.

I know from an old thread that I should get replacement strings. What kind should I get? Preferably ones that aren't too rare or expensive, as again, money's a slight issue.

Finally, I've read about "setup" for a bass. What will I need to do upon getting it to get it into a good condition for practice?

2. Dug2

Dug2 Supporting Member

imo, get wat u like and can afford. if you continue playin and want an upgrade later
    when there is more money, do so. the key is playing, anything to make it happen.
    i like the look of that thing too, but not liking the short scale. gl

3. iriegnome

iriegnome Bassstar style Supporting Member

Media:
    For just a little more, I bought a Hofner. Nothing against the Douglas, I am sure they are fine and very much worth the money, but I got my Hofner from Hello Music for $200 and I gotta say, I am liking it alot.

4. MakoMan

MakoMan

If you are looking at a short scale, get a Squier Vintage Modified Jaguar SS. Should be right around $150 and a much better bass than the Douglas for the average person.
    Plus the Jag SS plays and sounds great!

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Rob Martinez

Rob Martinez

Can't beat a Hofner Icon for about $200 at HelloMusic.

7. electracoyote

electracoyote