1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Drop.. C?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by eveilleu, Dec 2, 2013.

1. eveilleu

eveilleu Supporting Member

Hi,
    I started playing we got it going on from bonjovi in my music school. I was playing it with a standard tuning. Then this weekend I got together for the first time with the other guys who will be playing the song with me for our little show. The first thing the dude in charge of the arrangements did was to get all the guitars to change their tuning. Essentially E string is tuned to C, everything else is standard.

Then he made me also change my E to a C (the rest stayed as is). It took me completely off guard.

Was it necessary? Is there another way to get that super low C without having a lame string?

Thanks,
    Eric

Edit: Yes, I have a 4 string!

Edit 2: This is the song I need help with:
  2. Journey55

Journey55

That seems off, even Drop C would have dropping the other string to C G C F, you could get an octave pedal though
  3. bkbirge

bkbirge Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Steak n Shake
    Put a thicker string on for the E and you'll get your tension back.
  4. Fergie Fulton

Fergie Fulton Gold Supporting Member

Use an octave divider/splitter. Set it an octave or two octaves down and play either an octave or two octaves higher on the fretboard.
    Just ensure the low note you want can be reached within your settings. :)
  5. eveilleu