1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

drop D with Jazz bass

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by smellah, Jul 19, 2013.

1. smellah

smellah

Hello everyone,

I need any advise on an issue I'm facing.

I've been playing the bass since 20 years in powerful rock bands with my American Fender Jazz Bass tuned in E.
    I play it with the pick, saturation and attack the strings hard.
    My strings are 105-85-70-50

In a new band I'm in, I have drop the tuning to D. And here starts my problems. With the height of my stings I can't get the D string tuned all the way through the octaves. I have try to put a 110 string for the bass to hold better the tuning but it makes it worst at the octave.
    The advice I've been having so far: change to 5 strings bass,
    the jazz bass not being good at D tuning with hard playing.
    I don't like the idea since I've always played on four strings.

Does anyone play in D tuning with a Jazz Bass ?

What d would be your recommendations ?

Thanks a lot for your input.

Souheil

2. manolo578

manolo578

maybe adjust your action?

3. TheEmptyCell

TheEmptyCell Dingwall ABZ Player Supporting Member

Media:
    Albums:
    Sounds like you need a good setup of your bass. Seems like you need to lower your action and adjust your intonation.

4. AngelCrusher

AngelCrusher

Disclosures:
    Mesa Boogie, Tech 21, Taylor, Lakland
    Ive played Jazz basses tuned to C#. they handle low tuning well.

Sounds like your action is too low. You basically have to choose between low action or attacking the strings hard. I choose the former every time.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. mpdd

mpdd neoconceptualist Gold Supporting Member

personally haven't had any problems, but i play hard finger style with medium low action

7. Schmorgy

Schmorgy