Dropping my thumb? Wrong technique

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Dougie1316, Mar 5, 2014.

1. Dougie1316

Dougie1316

Hey guys, completely new here but I've been lurking for some time.

I've been thinking about my right hand technique lately. I started playing bass a number of years ago, I'm largely self taught but at the start of my journey I had some lessons for a short amount of time. When playing I was told that with my right hand I could either rest it on the top pickup or E string and use my fingers to play all the strings down below, like most of us do. BUT I was also told that I could float my thumb to play the E, rest my thumb on the E to play the A, rest my thumb on the A to play the D etc. I took up the second technique. I've never ever seen anyone use the same technique and when I watch myself back playing bass, it feels like I'm playing 'wrong'. I can play fast runs completely fine and stuff and I don't feel like it's hindering my playing. Does anybody else play like this or should I try and change what I'm doing?
  2. Nashrakh

Nashrakh

I think your technique is one of the standards in the bass world, if I understood your description correctly that is.

If it doesn't pose a problem - is it one? Maybe you're overthinking it.
  3. Dougie1316

Dougie1316

I'd say this is the best example I could give you:

This is me playing, and if it looks like I'm struggling, it's because I played it kind of wrong (should of started on the octave for each phrase in the beginning). And I didnt warm up before recording haha.

And I'm not sure it really poses a problem, I've just not got another technique to compare it to, to see if it is an actual problem. I do admit I'm slightly paranoid in that I've not seen anyone else use it.
  4. fearceol

fearceol

The technique you are using is generally called the movable/floating anchor. Here it is demonstrated by Adam Nitty :