Drum Machine...or something like it?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by ii7-V7, Jul 25, 2013.

1. ii7-V7

ii7-V7

OK, so I'm a total novice, especially when it comes to effects, amps, etc. What I'm looking for is something simple and fairly cheap that will let me play along with a drum beat when I practice. I've seen a few people talking about cool drum beat apps for iPad. But, I'm not sure how I'd be able to hear that over the bass itself. So, I'm thinking about something that can play through my amp (Unless there is some way to play an iPad through my amp that I don't know about?).

As far as the machine/pedal/app/whatever, I don't need much. Just looking to get a handful of preset beats that aren't too cheesy and will allow me to adjust the tempo. If it has more functionality that's cool (sampler, etc). But, I'm looking for something that will help me practice that won't take hours and hours to figure out how to program.

So, what am I looking for? An iPad app and a way to play it louder? A piece of hardware that I can plug into my amp? I have no idea.
  2. CHILDISHGAMBINO

CHILDISHGAMBINO

How much do you want to spend? You can pick up a Zoom B3 for about 200 bucks and it has a drum machine and looper built in so you can jam with yourself if you want to. It also has about 100 different effects to mess with. The drum machine and looper are both really easy to use.
  3. Bassmike62

Bassmike62

4. ii7-V7

ii7-V7

I was hoping for something a little more simple and a little cheaper. But, I'll check out the Zoom. The beat buddy is definitely out of my price range.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. pedroims

pedroims

7. Bassmike62

Bassmike62

If you're looking for something inexpensive, then check out the Zoom B1. 50 $ used has a lot of rythms, decent sound quality. That was my first and only multi-effect pedal. I still have it and only use it as a rythm machine when I practice on my own.
  8. ii7-V7

ii7-V7