Drum recording question

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by Rugmaster, Dec 19, 2012.

1. Rugmaster

Rugmaster

Has anyone ever done a recording where the drums were recorded at a different location than the rest of the instruments? I'm asking because my band wants to record at my guitarists home studio and we can do everything except drums there because he lives in a condo. We're just a little concered about having problems with the drum track after we put it in pro tools because it will only be one track and we won't be able to adjust the volume on the individual pieces of the kit.

2. aasti3000

aasti3000 Supporting Member

Why does the drums have to be one track? Do you want it that way?

3. Rugmaster

Rugmaster

I'm no recording expert but my guitarist says unless the studio records them in pro tools it will have to be that way, because that is what he uses

4. MNAirHead

MNAirHead

You can record to a click--- drums can be rendered down to individual wav files for final edit

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. ArvindJayaram

ArvindJayaram

Shouldn't be a problem, take notes on details like tempo changes, etc, so that you can sync up everything when you're done.

When you're recording, make sure each piece is miked separately as well as a group, this will help in adjusting for bleed later, while ensuring that the dynamics are captured. More mics initially, but when you're putting it together with the other instruments, you could always remove or adjust levels of the extraneous mics.

I think a lot of people record at separate locations, even across countries. Especially nowadays, since it's fairly easy to share files. And like the others said, you could always render each file separately as a .wav so that you have the different pieces and can EQ and add FX separately to suit taste.

- Jimmy Rage

7. PlungerModerno

PlungerModerno