Dumbest thing you've ever done to a bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by okc-zee, Dec 5, 2012.

1. okc-zee

okc-zee

Okay,This happened 46 years ago and this still haunts me to this day..I started playing when I was 13 yrs old back in 1965...I saved up some money and in 67 I bought myself a new Fender jazz w/ case for a total of $216 dollars from Sam Ash in Brooklyn New York...I've always been very much into John Entwistle and a couple of years later went to see the Who...John was playing this weird looking cut down P bass...So after some thought I decided to do that to my Jazz and took a jig saw to it...Do I need to say any more ? I still have the original receipt,neck and oval tuners from that bass...As I said,this still haunts me to this day...Needless to say,I have never again defiled an instrument in such a way...Okay, Top that.
  2. Wallace320

Wallace320

It would have certainly been more dumbest to the actual target

I must have posted it in another thread recently, anyway playin' a small club during a music contest for unsigned bands, me and my band, we've been throwing almost anything at us. I mean full beer cans and bottles
    This thing started 'cause a reknowned underground festival use to mix bands up in the same night (not managin' a funk night, a rock night, a metal night, a pop night, and so on...) so it must have been late '90s I think, and still "flower punk" was the thing, among teenagers, so more groups that kind, while just us playin' some "old fashioned", "vetero", "manly" thrash metal
    Singer/rhythm guitarist/songwriter stopped us and started to reply them by speech. I was playin' a poplar Jackson Concert XL (Dave Ellefson replica) thru an old AKG wireless system so I was immediately down the stage bearing my Concert by its neck aimin' at a head in particular, among the crowd.
    He was pushed aside by someone I couldn't notice, while I was stopped by three guys stageside right after the smash